Trainee Abstract Awards

Each year at the Annual Meeting of the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology, an ad hoc committee of International Society of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology members recognizes one or more outstanding abstracts in bone or soft tissue pathology that are presented by a trainee. The abstracts can be presented in a proffered paper or a poster session, but the primary author and presenter of the astract must be a trainee at either resident or fellow level. The following trainees have been recognized as award-winners:


Veronic Ulici, M.D., Ph.D.

“E-MGNET”: Extra-Gastrointestinal Malignant Gastrointestinal Neuroectodermal Tumor – A Clinicopathological and Molecular Genetic Study of 10 Cases.” Veronica Ulici, Jessica Davis, Swati Mehrotra, Jeanne Meis, Kevin Halling, Christopher Fletcher, Erica Kao, Jason Hornick, Andrew Folpe.


Platform Winner
Josephine Dermawan, M.D., Ph.D

“Comprehensive Genomic Profiling of EWSR1/FUS-CREB Family of Translocation-Associated Tumors Uncovers Prognostically Significant Recurrent Genetic Alterations and Methylation-Transcriptional Correlates.” Josephine Dermawan, Fabio Vanoli, Lei Zhang, Tejus Bale, Brendan Dickson, Cristina Antonescu.


Poster Winner
Christopher Chandler, M.D.

“Classification of Small Round Cell Tumors Using Convolutional Neural Networks.” Nishrat Khan, Christopher Chandler, Jonathan Henriksen, Linda Shapiro, Nicholas Reder, Robert Ricciotti.


Zachary Chelsky, DO, MS  (resident)

Integrated Next Generation Sequencing and Gene Expression Analysis of 10 Pleomorphic Rhabdomyosarcoma Cases Reveals Potential Drivers and Druggable Targets

Zachary Chelsky, DO, MS (resident), Vera Paulson, MD, PhD, Eleanor Chen, MD, PhD
University of Washington


David A. Solomon, MD, PhD

Frequent Inactivating Mutations of the Cohesin Complex Gene STAG2 in Ewing’s Sarcoma Associated with TP53 Mutations and Poor Outcome

David A Solomon, A Brohl, J-S Kim, W Chang, Y Song, JA Lopez Guerrero, I Machado, Z Wang, JJ Phillips, DH Wai, V Shahbazian, P Sorensen, A E Horvai, TJ Triche, M Miettinen, A Llombart-Bosch, T Waldman, J Khan. University of California, San Francisco, and other institutions.


Andrew W. James, MD

Perivascular Stem Cells induce Bone Formation and Vasculogenesis in Ectopic and Bone Injury Models

AW James, G Chung, G Asatrian, O Velasco, A Pan, A Nyugen, P Liang, D Stoker, K Ting, B Peault, C Soo. University of California Los Angeles.


Erick Jacobson-Dunlop, MD

FBXW7 Mutations in a Subset of Embryonal Rhabdomyosarcoma

Erick Jacobson-Dunlop, Atiya Mansoor, Christopher Corless, Michael Heinrich, Carol Beadling; Department of Pathology, Oregon Health & Science University.


CE de Andrea

The Pathogenesis of Osteochondroma: Clues from Tracing Proteoglycans in Zebrafish Models and Human Cartilage

CE de Andrea, MI Wiweger, FA Prins, PCW Hogendoorn. Leiden University Medical Center, Netherlands.


Selection Committee: This consists of three judges, appointed by the Executive Committee, with one serving as chair. Each year the prior chair rotates off, one of the other two serves as chair, and all three may suggest a replacement for the one cycling off the selection committee. New committee members are appointed by the President with input from the Executive committee.

Eligible Abstracts: a) Only posters in the USCAP Bone and Soft Tissue section were eligible (sarcoma abstracts or posters in other sections were not eligible). b) The first author has to be a trainee (resident/ fellow in pathology preferable;, graduate students, medical students or other trainee also considered). c) The winner could come from any country. d) When judges encounter possible winners from their own institutions, that judge must recuse him/herself from voting; this allows the possibility of a winner from those institutions.

Process: Each judge to view all posters in all BST sections. Each attempts to talk to trainees during the poster defense session if possible. Posters viewed either together or separately. Meet after individual poster sessions to discuss favorites for further consideration. Preference given to studies that were clearly works of significance that brought new knowledge to our field.

Final determination: Judges discuss a small group of finalists. Each judge has one vote. A majority (2 of 3 was sufficient to decide the winner). If judges could not decide a winner, the tie will be broken by the ISBSTP sitting president, if present at the meeting; if not, then the Vice President will be the deciding officer.

Communication: The decision of the selection committee was delivered to the treasurer who will provide $500 as an award to the winner after the meeting.

Presentation: At BST Specialty Conference when on or after Wednesday: When timing allows, the announcement of the winner will be at the BST evening session, where the winner is announced and given an envelope with a note containing promise of the cash award. Beforehand, one of the judges finds the trainee mentor to ask that the trainees be at the session. Also, the address and email address of the awardee is obtained. B After the Meeting: When the above is not possible, the prize will be announced on the website, and the winner notified by the President via email (cc to the Treasurer, and Secretary).