Log in

International Society of bone and Soft Tissue Pathology

Log in

Annual Poster Award

On February 26, 2011, the membership of the International Society of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology (ISBSTP) approved an Annual Award for the Best Poster (vs Abstract) presented at the US-Canadian Academy of Pathology meeting by a trainee (resident or fellow) in Pathology. The selection is performed by a selected group of three judges from the Society, appointed each year from the membership, and carries a monetary sum of US$500.

The ISBSTP Poster Award is intended to stimulate interest in the field of soft tissue and bone pathology and advance our understanding about the diagnosis prognosis and/or pathogenesis of this collection of rare diseases.


Zachary Chelsky, DO, MS  (resident)

Integrated Next Generation Sequencing and Gene Expression Analysis of 10 Pleomorphic Rhabdomyosarcoma Cases Reveals Potential Drivers and Druggable Targets

All Authors

Zachary Chelsky, DO, MS  (resident), Vera Paulson, MD, PhDEleanor Chen, MD, PhD

University of Washington


David A. Solomon, MD, PhD

Frequent Inactivating Mutations of the Cohesin Complex Gene STAG2 in Ewing's Sarcoma Associated with TP53 Mutations and Poor Outcome

All Authors
David A Solomon, A Brohl, J-S Kim, W Chang, Y Song, JA Lopez Guerrero, I Machado, Z Wang, JJ Phillips, DH Wai, V Shahbazian, P Sorensen, A E Horvai, TJ Triche, M Miettinen, A Llombart-Bosch, T Waldman, J Khan. University of California, San Francisco, and other institutions.


Andrew W. James, MD

Perivascular Stem Cells induce Bone Formation and Vasculogenesis in Ectopic and Bone Injury Models

All Authors 
AW James, G Chung, G Asatrian, O Velasco, A Pan, A Nyugen, P Liang, D Stoker, K Ting, B Peault, C Soo. University of California Los Angeles.


Erick Jacobson-Dunlop, MD

FBXW7 Mutations in a Subset of Embryonal Rhabdomyosarcoma.

All Authors

Erick Jacobson-Dunlop, Atiya Mansoor, Christopher Corless, Michael Heinrich, Carol Beadling; Department of Pathology, Oregon Health & Science University.


CE de Andrea

The Pathogenesis of Osteochondroma: Clues from Tracing Proteoglycans in Zebrafish Models and Human Cartilage.

All Authors
CE de Andrea, MI Wiweger, FA Prins, PCW Hogendoorn. Leiden University Medical Center, Netherlands.

Poster image not available


Selection Committee: This consists of three judges, appointed by the Executive Committee, with one serving as chair. Each year the prior chair rotates off, one of the other two serves as chair, and all three may suggest a replacement for the one cycling off the selection committee. New committee members are appointed by the President with input from the Executive committee.

Eligible Abstracts: a) Only posters in the USCAP Bone and Soft Tissue section were eligible (sarcoma abstracts or posters in other sections were not eligible). b) The first author has to be a trainee (resident/ fellow in pathology preferable;, graduate students, medical students or other trainee also considered). c) The winner could come from any country. d) When judges encounter possible winners from their own institutions, that judge must recuse him/herself from voting; this allows the possibility of a winner from those institutions.

Process: Each judge to view all posters in all BST sections. Each attempts to talk to trainees during the poster defense session if possible. Posters viewed either together or separately. Meet after individual poster sessions to discuss favorites for further consideration. Preference given to studies that were clearly works of significance that brought new knowledge to our field.

Final determination: Judges discuss a small group of finalists. Each judge has one vote. A majority (2 of 3 was sufficient to decide the winner). If judges could not decide a winner, the tie will be broken by the ISBSTP sitting president, if present at the meeting; if not, then the Vice President will be the deciding officer.

Communication: The decision of the selection committee was delivered to the treasurer who will provide $500 as an award to the winner after the meeting.

Presentation: At BST Specialty Conference when on or after Wednesday: When timing allows, the announcement of the winner will be at the BST evening session, where the winner is announced and given an envelope with a note containing promise of the cash award. Beforehand, one of the judges finds the trainee mentor to ask that the trainees be at the session. Also, the address and email address of the awardee is obtained. B After the Meeting: When the above is not possible, the prize will be announced on the website, and the winner notified by the President via email (cc to the Treasurer, and Secretary).

Contact Us


Dr. Julie C. Fanburg-Smith

Copyright © 2020 International Society of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software